Want to be in the know? Sign up for our project updates newslettersubscribe
Thoroughbred Racing

Thoroughbred Racing SA is the controlling body for horseracing in South Australia. It represents, promotes and supports the State's thoroughbred racing industry. Thoroughbred Racing SA is assisted in this role by its two members groups:

  • South Australian Racing Clubs Council (SARCC) which represents the State's 24 provincial and country clubs
  • South Australian Jockey Club (SAJC) which controls the Adelaide metropolitan races

Thoroughbred Racing SA also regularly consults with owners, breeders, trainers, jockeys and bookmakers to monitor the current status of the industry and develop long term plans.

Thoroughbred Racing SA signed an innovative agreement with the Murray Bridge Racing Club in 2008 to facilitate the next stage in the club’s plans for a multi-million dollar racecourse, training facility and equine precinct along with a residential development – now known as Gifford Hill.

The agreement saw Thoroughbred Racing SA act as guarantor for the $5 million loan sought by Murray Bridge Racing Club to purchase 800 hectares of farm land in February 2009.

Thoroughbred Racing SA is a 10% stakeholder in the Gifford Hill project, with Chairperson Frances Nelson QC the nominated Thoroughbred Racing SA director of the project. The other stakeholders in this development are the Murray Bridge Racing Club and Burke Urban.

Jim Watters
Chief Executive Officer
Thoroughbred Racing South Australia
Ph: 8179 9802
Thoroughbred Racing SA