Want to be in the know? Sign up for our project updates newslettersubscribe

The ancient river Murray has always been a vital part of Murray Bridge's history.

The first inhabitants of the area were the Ngarrindjeri people, relying on the abundant landscape for thousands of years. They call the area "Moop-pol-tha-wong", meaning Haven of Birds. Today, the Pomberuk Aboriginal Cultural Centre of Warf Road, Murray Bridge showcases the arts, food and culture of the local Ngarrindjeri Community.

During the latter nineteenth and early twentieth century, the Murray River was a busy inland water highway. At its peak, 100 steamers and 200 barges engaged in River Trade, through Murray Bridge, carrying produce from stations and farms to transit points down river.

Today, 9 sunken steamers and barges sit submerged under the river near and around Sturt Reserve, as hidden artifacts. The first bridge to span the Murray River was built in 1879, followed by a rail bridge in 1879, securing Murray Bridge as a vital link across the river. 

For more information on the history and heritage of the region please click here.

Ngarrindjeri People